Faculty Honors & Awards

Headshot of Bana Jabri 01/03/2018

Bana Jabri has been named the Sarah and Harold Lincoln Thompson Professor in the Department of Medicine and the College.

Jabri, vice chair for research in the Department of Medicine and director of research at the University of Chicago Celiac Disease Center, is a gastroenterologist and an expert in human immunology. She has followed a career interest in celiac disease, autoimmune disorders and inflammatory bowel disease. Read more at the UChicago News site.



Carole Ober (Human Genetics; Genetics, Genomics and Systems Biology) has been named the Blum-Riese Distinguished Service Professor in Human Genetics and the College.

Ober is chair of the Department of Human Genetics. Her research focuses on the genetics of complex human phenotypes, with particular emphasis on traits related to reproduction and asthma susceptibility. Read more at the UChicago News site.

Headshot of Louis Philipson 01/03/2018

Louis H. Philipson has been named the first holder of the James C. Tyree Professorship of Diabetes Research and Care in the Department of Medicine.

Philipson, director of the University of Chicago Medicine Kovler Diabetes Center, is an authority on diabetes. He is the founding director of the Kovler Diabetes Center, president of the Chicago Community Leadership Board and national President-elect for Science and Medicine of the American Diabetes Association. Read more at the UChicago News site.


Daniel A. Arber has been named the first Donald West and Mary Elizabeth King Professor in the Department of Pathology.

Arber, chair of the Department of Pathology at the University and an authority on the diagnosis, classification and molecular genetics of blood cancers, came from Stanford University, where he was the Ronald F. Dorfman Professor in Pathology, vice chair for clinical services and medical director of anatomic pathology and clinical laboratory services.

Bana Jabri, PhD 06/07/2017

Bana Jabri, Professor in Medicine, Pediatrics, and the College, has been awarded the Llewellyn John and Harriet Manchester Quantrell  award, believed to be the oldest award for undergraduate teaching in the nation.

Read the full story and hear an interview with Dr. Jabri on the UChicago News website.

Jason MacLean, PhD 06/07/2017

Jason MacLean, Associate Professor in Neurobiology and the College, has been selected as a recipient of the 2017 Faculty Award for Excellence in Graduate Teaching and Mentorship.

Read more and hear a short interview with Dr. MacLean on the UChicago News website.

A close-up shot of Neil Shubin in his lab. 05/08/2017

Neil Shubin, the Robert R. Bensley Distinguished Service Professor of Organismal Biology and Anatomy, is one of three University of Chicago faculty elected to the American Philosophical Society. Membership is "entirely honorary and reflects extraordinary [intellectual and scholarly] accomplishments."

Read more on the UChicagoNews page.

Michaela Gack, PhD 03/29/2017

Associate Professor of Microbiology Michaela Gack was awarded a 2017 Vilcek Prize for Creative Promise. She is one of three biomedical sciences recipients. These prizes are awarded annually to encourage and support young immigrants who have already demonstrated exceptional achievements, and who often face significant challenges early in their careers.

Vilcek Prize for Creative Promise recipients are awarded $50,000 each.

Thomas Gajewski, MD, PhD 02/06/2017

The National Cancer Institute bestowed its Outstanding Investigator Award on UChicago professor Thomas Gajewski, MD, PhD (Deaprtment of Pathology, the Ben May Department for Cancer Research, Department of Medicine - Section of Hematology/Oncology, UCCCC, Committees on Cancer Biology, Immunology, Molecular Medicine/MPMM).

The award guarantees $600,000 in direct costs per year over seven years. Read more on the Science Life blog.

Bernard Roizman, Sc.D. 02/06/2017

Bernard Roizman, Joseph Regenstein Distinguished Service Professor of Virology in the Departments of Microbiology and Molecular Genetics & Cell Biology, received the 2017 Selman A. Waksman Award in Microbiology.

Roizman received the award "for his many seminal contributions to understanding the mechanisms by which herpes viruses replicate and cause disease."

Instagram Facebook Youtube